The overall operation of the Tea Institute is directed by the Assistant to the President (Dr.Pansiri Suthiluk) under the supervision of the President of Mae Fah Luang University and the Vice-president (Assoc. Prof. Dr. Chayaporn Wattanasiri), alongside with the following Administrative Committee and working group:

  1. Tea Institute’s Administrative Committee—The Tea Institute’s Administrative Committee is entrusted with establishing the institute’s policy and management procedure, as well as regulating, monitoring and evaluating the performance of the institute, ensuring all works is achieved in compliance with the policy and mission. It also provides advice and suggestions on the management and overall operation of the institute. The Tea Institute’s Administrative Committee comprises executives of Mae Fah Luang University: The President, the Vice-president, the Assistant to the President, Deans of various Schools, and experts from external organizations. The Director of Tea Institute is appointed as the Secretary to the Administrative Committee.
  2. Tea Institute’s Working Group—During its 1-year term, the Tea Institute’s Working Group is responsible for coordinating and directing the administrative and supporting activities, as well as performing other activities to enable the work of the institute to meet the policy and mission.

The main work tasks of the institute are:

  1. Research
  2. Academic service
  3. Laboratory service
  4. Agricultural service
  5. Information service and management

The administrative structure of the institute consists of 3 divisions.

  1. Administrative Office, responsible for
    – coordination with other bodies within and outside the university;
    – general administrative tasks, procurement, and financial and budgeting affairs;
    – educational quality assurance and internal audit; and
    – supporting and promoting research and academic services, particularly in administrative tasks.
  2. Tea Laboratory, responsible for
    – overseeing tea laboratory management;
    – establishing laboratory quality system;
    – providing tea testing and laboratory services; and
    – supporting and promoting research and academic services, particularly in laboratory works.
  3. Agricultural Unit, responsible for
    – planning, directing, and monitoring the management system of tea genetic plots (Boon Rawd Farm, Mae Korn, Chiang Rai), tea conservation plots, and tea plant nurseries;
    – coordinating with government and private agencies on the agricultural matters; and
    – supporting and promoting research and academic services, particularly in agricultural works.